Waking up early!

I don’t know how some people do it – go to bed by 9PM and wake up at 5 or 6AM, even in the summer! If it was up to my natural rhythm, I would probably go to bed around 3 – 5 AM and wake up around 2 or 3 PM! Sadly, there is no such thing as a third shift middle school (nor does there even seem to be a second shift middle school!), so I’m confined to going to bed earlier and earlier as we get closer and closer to September to re-align my sleep schedule to the earlier schedule mandated by schools.

This year I’m at a new school that starts earlier than my old school (which did start particularly late). I’m preparing myself to arrive to school by 7:30AM every day, which does not sound fun, since at my old school, twice a week, I could leave home at 8AM and get to school before the kids did! So I’m going to try to be really good this year and consistently arrive 30 minutes before the students do!

Sorry that this post isn’t very substantial. Today, I went out with my family to Benihana for one last birthday celebration and that dominated my day! Not much math-ing or teacher-thinking today, though I did finish Chris Emdin’s book, which I will blog about later this week, most likely. Need some time to finish digesting it.

One thought on “Waking up early!

  1. Interested on your thoughts on the book. I took his class at TC and the book summarized what he teaches about nicely. I really love that it gives practical things to do (and not just theory) and it’s about things that he has actually done. Not too sure I would do everything he says (I.e. Go to my students’ church) but it’s good food for thought…

Leave a Reply

