Summer House Projects

Whenever people make jokes about teachers having summers off, I always tell them I consider it the comp time for all of the uncompensated nights and weekends that I work during the school year. It is rare that I’m not home grading and lesson planning every weeknight (I laugh when friends in other professions invite me out for a weekday dinner!) – if I’m out, it’s usually at a PD! On weekends, I usually spend Sunday afternoon and evening preparing for Mondays, and if it’s the wrong time of the marking period, I may spend Saturday grading projects or tests! I admit, I’m a bit of a workaholic (and I’m definitely a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to my lesson planning because I’m so nervous about it, especially when it’s a new topic or incorporating a new technique).

All of that is to say that I don’t have a lot of time to do house-tasks beyond the basic cleaning during the school year, so my partner and I spend the summers doing organization tasks around the apartment. The last two summers, though, we’ve gone away to CA for weeklong vacations, and I haven’t been motivated enough around the house to do much cleaning. This summer, however, other than a week long camping trip and visit with family friends in MA, we’ve been home most of the summer. So I’ve had plenty of relaxing time, plenty of reading and blogging time, and plenty of cleaning time. I’ve gone through old school papers that I no longer need (student work samples from YEARS ago that I kept for god knows what reason?!), as well as items to put into our yard sale next weekend.

I woke up early this morning and we went to our storage unit by 11. We were there, going through each and every bin and box sorting and organizing – keep? sell? re-box? In the late afternoon, we came home, ate a late lunch and went through the books on the bookshelf in the living room, doing the same thing (keep? sell? put in storage?), and then after dinner, I went through the boxes in my bedroom under the desk.

Now, I’m winding down for the night, because it’s getting late, and I’m trying to keep to a good schedule. But I’ve been literally cleaning for 90% of today (except a few TV breaks I took along the way!). Hopefully, we’ll get through reorganizing all of this stuff before this weekend, in preparation for our sidewalk sale! And then, after I organize the stuff I’m selling, I found more teaching papers that I need to go through and organize! Who has time for all of this during the school year? Not me!

Leave a Reply

